FREE SHIPPING for $160+ orders
Orders pre-7pm usually ship next business day
Cart 0 Wishlist (0)
THIRTEEN - Girls Aren't The Same 7"

Sing Sing

THIRTEEN - Girls Aren't The Same 7"

Add to Wishlist

A Power Pop three-piece formed in 1977 by Mark Ferrick (v/b, who composed the A-side of Dean Wyman's lone 1978 single), Jim Ferrick (d) and Ian McKean (gtr), Thirteen never managed to gain press coverage and their lone 7" was released in France, Germany and Holland, but not in the UK. Recorded in January 1979 with Phil Cordell co-producing, drums on the 7" were played by Mark Ferrick on one track and a session player on another following the death of his brother Jim shortly before the session.

Girls Aren't the Same is a fine Powerpop performance which somehow didn't gain a release in the UK at the time. The harmonies and guitars are spot on but the B side is the killer. Featuring Ian McKean driving and cutting guitars, Teddy Boy rocks out in fine straight ahead Stones/Streak mode. Ian's style is pure Rock N Roll and he later also played lead guitar on 2 or 3 tracks of the second Fortunate Sons LP (Karezza) in 1986.

Share this Product

More from this collection